Welcome to SimplyNotPossible!

6 Nov

I finally started a blog.  My obsession with Facebook is waning (as they will not stop making stupid changes), but I can’t imagine not using the internet for a lot of my daily entertainment/social interaction.  I am truly thankful that through FB I have reconnected with so many of the people I grew up with in Mississippi.  A lot of those friends have even visited me this year and I learned people do not change a lot – comforting! 

I was lucky to grow up in a safe rural community with a lot of really good people.  There was not a lot to do there except go to church and run the roads.  My grandmother, Julia (pronounced Jew-yer by the locals), owned the country store so I worked for her from the age of 9.  I also hung out with my granddad, Troy, a lot.  He was a character and raced thoroughbreds in New Orleans.  I started going to the track with him at a very young age.  He taught me to handicap a racing form and loved to show me off to his buddies.  To this day I have a soft spot for old dudes and characters.  The racetrack was like going to Life University.  In one visit I would be comparing bets with a mafioso bookmaker and in the next race talking to an ex-governor of Louisiana – at age 11.  I often drove us home.  It was nice to grow up thinking I could hold my own with anybody.

When I was a teenager I thought Caesar was the end of the earth and my goals in life were to get out of Mississippi and have air conditioning where I could turn it down as cold as I liked it.  Next time around I should reach a little higher since once I met those goals I did not make any more for 20 years.  I just let life happen and worked my butt trying to make a career in the energy business.

A few years ago Houston started to drag me down.  Living in such a big city was closing in on me.  My job was more stressful than it should have been.  I had survived a train wreck divorce and a major job transition.  I had no idea what to do next – I never planned on raising a little girl by myself.  I thought if I moved to a foreign locale then I could reboot my life.  It did not help that I watched the movie Under The Tuscan Sun with Diane Lane about 12 times so I had romantic notions of a European lifestyle. 

One night I was working late.  I had absolutely hit the wall with a project I had worked on for 5 years (with no end in sight).  It was close to 10pm and a colleague was browsing job openings and thought one she found in Holland might just be the ticket for me.  Without much thought I zipped off my resume.  45 days later we landed at Amsterdam Schipol airport on New Year’s Day.  I knew my new boss slightly, but other than that I did not know a single person in this country.  I did not speak the language.  I had never even been here on a business trip or vacation.  All I knew was that I had nothing to lose. 

So now it’s almost 2 years later and we have settled in.  Moving here was the dumbest, best and hardest thing I have ever done.

The name of my blog refers to an odd little quirk about living among the Dutch.  “It is simply not possible” is a common phrase here.  Some folks think “oh, the Dutch, they smoke a lot of weed and they are very laid back”.  Au contraire!!  They are not laid back.  They have a rule, a law and/or a tax for every aspect of daily life.  They have not embraced customer service.  They also like to eat cheese sandwiches.  They are a pragmatic bunch.  I think this phrase for me – Simply Not Possible – captures the essence of our daily lives in Holland.

13 Responses to “Welcome to SimplyNotPossible!”

  1. JaPRA November 7, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

    Love this, sweet girl. Welcome to the blogging world! Can’t wait to hear more about your adventures 😉 xxx (that’s three kisses, in the way of the Dutch haha). Also, here’s a great big {Texas size hug} all the way from England.

    • simplynotpossible November 9, 2011 at 10:17 am #

      Thanks, Yaz. You were my first friend in Holland and I appreciate the welcome to this day! You have such a lovely blog.

  2. Phyllis Lee-Ray November 7, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

    I absolutely ADORE your site! So colorful! I think our family was blessed with story telling. Love you!

  3. Scarlett November 7, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

    Really well written, mom 🙂 looking forward to more!

  4. Deidra November 8, 2011 at 6:20 pm #

    Don’t forget about that light socket, fire in the hole lady 😉

    • simplynotpossible November 9, 2011 at 10:16 am #

      Help me remember some more of those nuts, Deidra. I have the rodeo champion in mind too. I have plenty of material just catching up with the ones I have met to date. Wish I had pictures!!

  5. AMBURR November 10, 2011 at 1:32 am #

    HAHAHA. Oh, Mushroom head.

  6. mike knipper November 11, 2011 at 12:58 am #

    I am a fan! If you ever get low on material you can always break out your mom’s book of stories. There’s plenty of laughs to be had with a monkey walking the dog to the store…keep them coming
    Your favorite brother-in-law

    • simplynotpossible November 11, 2011 at 8:39 am #

      Thanks, Mike! I am trying to think of some stories involving you and Becky! Maybe the Volvo Bar.

  7. Maria Russell November 13, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

    Lori gave me to your blog, and I *simply* love your writing style! I think we have a lot in common… Write on!

Leave a Reply

